News Flash

City of Everett News

Posted on: October 29, 2020

Everett City Council adopts council districts map

city council districts news flash

EVERETT, Wash. – Everett City Council yesterday adopted council districts map A-9. Beginning in 2021, the five districts will each elect one city councilmember, who must live in the district they represent. The remaining two council positions will be at-large and able to live anywhere within city limits.

After a series of public meetings in September to gather community feedback, the map was approved by the districting commission at their Oct. 19 meeting and adopted by city council without modification at the Oct. 28 city council meeting.

“I'm honored to have served as the districting commission's chair and proud to have worked with this dedicated, diverse group of commissioners,” said Simone Tarver, districting commission chair. “I look forward to seeing more local and equitable representation for all areas of our city and the good this could do for our historically underrepresented communities.”

City council districts were approved by Everett voters in November 2018. The districting commission, made up of nine community members from across the city and Districting Master Tony Fairfax, began meeting in 2019 to develop the district plan and map.

For more information, visit


Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in City of Everett News

sunset over port gardner

Mayor Franklin delivers 2022 budget address

Posted on: September 30, 2021
open data

City launches new open data portal

Posted on: June 3, 2019