What Rethink Zoning is:

Rethink Zoning is a multi-year effort to ensure that our development regulations support our efforts to recruit new businesses and secure a wide range of housing at all price points.

These project pages provides information about why the City is undertaking this initiative, what it means to Everett residents, where you can find more information, and how to engage in the discussion and outcomes. Use the "next" button below or the navigation buttons above to learn more about Rethink Zoning.

Why we are rethinking our zoning code:

The current version of the City’s zoning code was adopted in 1989. The world and Everett have changed significantly since that time. By building on the success of Metro Everett, we can continue to make zoning simpler and also protect community values. Since Metro Everett, the City simplified the future land use map, updated the city’s sign code and critical area regulations.

New zones at a glance:

The Rethink Zoning project has drafted new maps and Use Tables that reduces the number of zoning districts from 31 to 12. Here are the new zones at a glance (click on links):

Residential Zones:

Commercial Zones:

Industrial Zones:

Local Resource Lands:

  • Agriculture (AG) - applies to lands in the Lowell-Larimer neighborhood
  • Water Resource Management (WRM) - applies to the city’s watershed properties in the Lake Chaplain watershed

Zoning District Criteria

The criteria used to draw the zoning map for these districts will be added to the City’s Comprehensive Plan to guide future decisions. Click here for the criteria. 

Where can I find the draft codes?

The draft codes and other background documents can be found in our Rethink Zoning Library. Maps can be found in our Maps library